Sound Plasma Berlin 2022

Detailed program


Sound Plasma is a festival dedicated to promote a different view towards intonation; Now already in its 6th edition, Sound Plasma has become a home for a special type of weirdness in music.

The 6th edition of the festival experiments with new intonation ideas with a flavour of electroacoustic music. For the first time, a particular focus on music from Switzerland takes place in Tallinn and Berlin.

Festival’s highlights include the Estonian debut performance of Ensemble Phoenix Basel, as well as the hour-long piece for 9 keyboards and 9 computers by Enno Poppe. The full length performance of a special piece by Peter Ablinger, which was developed together with the flutist Erik Drescher, during the lock-downs, will receive its Estonian premiere by Mr. Drescher himself. World premiere of pieces by Demetre Gamsachurdia, Aleksander Gabrys, Sami Klemola, Sander Saarmets, Matthias S. Krüger and Liisa Hõbepappel are other important events in Sound Plasma 2022.

In our Berlin events this year we are going to have works by Ivan Wychnegradsky, Edu Habensack, Enno Poppe, be presented alongside new works of young composers Sami Klemola, Liisa Hõbepapel, Sander Saarmets, Aleksander Gabrys and many more. The Swiss NeuverBand ensemble, the Austrian Dsilton, the Finnish defunensemble, and Ensemble for New Music Tallinn will perform in Acker Stadt Palast Berlin on 24-26th of November.

The festival reaches out to the Swiss music scene not only because of the impeccable quality of the music/performances but because of the nurturing effect the Swiss musical culture has on developing special and uncompromisingly unique musical voices.

The current edition of the festival dares to explore a brand new point of view with a basis in the electronic, and sometimes corny, sounds of the 60s and 70s.


Dsilton »Read bio
Ensemble for New Music Tallinn »Read bio
neuverBand »Read bio
defunensemble »Read bio

Detailed program of the Sound Plasma Berlin 2022

Public events of Sound Plasma Berlin are on the 24th and 25th of November,
in Acker Stadt Palast.

24th of November 2022

18:30 Ensemble for New Music Tallinn (Estonia)

Aleksander Gabrys: »Nevermore« (2022, world premiere)
Demetre Gamsachurdia: »CRAVE« (2022, world premiere)
Sander Saarmets: »and the sky turned yellow« (2022, world premiere)
Sami Klemola: »Canvas IIb« (2022, world premiere)
Liisa Hõbepappel: »The jangling lightness of solice« (2022, world premiere)


20:30 Dsilton (Austria)


Original music by Dsilton

25th of November 2022

18:30 neuverBand (Switzerland)


Edu Haubensak: »String Trio II« (1994)
Vito Zuraj: »Round Robin« (2014)
Ivan Wyschnegradsky: »Trio Op. 53« (1979)
Katharina Rosenberger: »Gesang an das noch namenlose Land« (2013)
Philippe Leroux: »De l’épaisseur«(1998)

20:30 defunensemble (Finland)


Minna Leinonen: »Pheme« (2011)
Simon Loeffler: »september08« (2008)
Kaija Saariaho: »NoaNoa« (1992)
Enno Poppe: »Arbeit« (2006-2007)
Jukka-Pekka Kervinen “(not so thin) layers” (2022, UA)